It’s been a long time coming.  Now with the national election right around the corner so many have come out swinging.  At first, it’s easy to just ignore.  A few obnoxious posts pop up and you laugh at the absurdity of it all.  Then our daughter, who has always been civic minded begins volunteering for her favourite President over the summer….

https://myfullemptynest.wordpress.com/2012/08/01/christianity-politics-and-an-omnipotent-god-4/

Wow.  Never have I ever…..  It tends to bring out the mama bear in me.

So thankful for the few who have had the graciousness to speak up, even when they clearly do not share the same views, still, they encourage and congratulate and exhibit unconditional love.  Kind of like the Samaritan on the road to Damascus.  They just care and that trumps all differences.

This particular message our daughter received warmed my heart:

“I hope you’re doing well. I know I haven’t seen you in years, and this is super random, but I’ve just been wanting to say this because you pop up on my newsfeed all the time. I probably disagree with you politically on most things, but I just want to say that I really respect your passion and your dedication to what you believe. I’m honestly blown away by how you stick to your beliefs despite constant opposition. I love that you’re an unashamed Christian, and I firmly believe that no matter who gets elected this fall, the Lord will continue to use your heart and passion for his glory.”

Please share those articles you find insightful.  Share your opinions on matters.  I love hearing them.  It’s when judgment, mean spiritedness & down right bullying occur that I definitely draw the line.

I would love to give a special shout out to my nephew Bill Blair, who has been a constant encourager.  A great example of grace in action (on Facebook to Alli):

Bill Blair I always respect involvement regardless of party affiliation. No person or party is right on everything. The debate is necessary and healthy for our country. Plus, I’m very proud of my cousin! What a great opportunity.

A couple days ago I sat down and wrote a rather lengthy letter to Barack Obama.  I just thought there was a girl he needed to hear about.  I’m so proud of her and I know he would be too.

~Ciao

Image

About along the journey

public private ramblings - myfullemptynest
Link | This entry was posted in Empty Nest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When did Facebook become the Unsocial Network?

  1. PLTK says:

    Ann, I agree–you are blessed with a daughter like Alexandra who is passionate and strives her best to daily work out her faith in ALL areas of her life. I am glad to read more voices this year pointing out that Christians can have differing ideas on many political issues, although unfortunately many don’t always listen. Just keep encouraging Alli even when she is faced with attacks!

  2. Reblogged this on myfullemptynest and commented:

    Worth reading again, if I don’t say so myself. Throwback Friday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

