An Ode to My Best Friend, My Husband

I’ve never laughed so much as I have when I am with you.  I’ve never felt so safe, so loved, so appreciated, so blessed as when I am with you.  Thirty-three years ago I thought I loved you.  Now I know how little I knew about love.

You have been my best friend since I was 18 years old.  Admittedly, I’ve had moments when I didn’t like you, but I’ve always been committed to you, to our love, to our life.

If I knew then what I know now, I would have been more loving, more patient, more gracious toward you during those moments.

I may not have acted out my life on stages before 10,000 people, but I dedicate this song to you, the love of my life who is almost my everything.

 (“Your spouse cannot, and will not, meet all of your expectations…There is no one alive on this earth today that can meet all of your expectations…And so what I am talking about is what happens in our hearts when our expectations are NOT met.)

The Song

Thank you Samuel N. Smith for this adventure called Life.

~Ciao

About along the journey

public private ramblings - myfullemptynest
This entry was posted in Empty Nest and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

