It Really Does Take A Village – on Godly mentors especially during times of tragedy

Throughout the years we have been truly blessed by so many young adult spiritual mentors for our kids.  I know I have said that before, but it bears repeating.  I do not know where we would be without their support and willingness to get involved in our kids lives when it was so often difficult.  These special people probably never realized that their lives were a great witness to me as well.  This week I’ve been overwhelmed by the Godly wisdom out there in response to the horrific tragedy last week.  I’m so encouraged by those who wrestle with the big questions and are not afraid to admit that they do not know all the answers.  That is a real sign of spiritual maturity.

I still remember vividly the moment this young youth leader arrived at our front door to talk and pray with our 8th grade daughter who just moments earlier learned that her best friend had taken his own life.  His support and several others saw us through a very difficult time.  As a result, our daughter grew in her faith by leaps and bounds and that has not changed to this day.

Today, that young youth leader is now an author, husband & father and he is still not afraid to wrestle with the big questions.  I’ve love his writing since laughing my way through his first book, The Coffeehouse Gospel.  Today on his blog he wrote an article that resonated with me to the nth degree.  I especially loved the 4th point on being peacemakers.  I hope you appreciate his writing as well.

4 Questions Every Evangelical Church Should Be Asking  by Matthew Paul Turner

Ciao~ats

About along the journey

public private ramblings - myfullemptynest
This entry was posted in Empty Nest, Family, Health, Home, Peace & Politics, Religion & Christianity and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

