I’ve been thinking…..

I love my kids more than life itself. All their lives I’ve done my best to protect them. Then comes a moment, just a small moment in time when you realize you have to, rather you must, give up all control and place them gently back in the arms of God, trusting what you’ve known all along. You can’t protect them from all hurt, but you can rest knowing God will be with them in each & every moment.

I love this quote that Alli shared with me today from A Tree Grows in Brooklyn:

“It’s come at last .. The time when you can no longer stand between your children and heartache … You’d kill anyone who tried to harm them .. The one sunny day, they walk out in all innocence and they walk right into the grief that you’d give your life to spare them.”

I can’t spare them.

The best I can do is pray that the hope I have within me, through Christ, manifests itself somehow in their lives.

I believe it has.

I believe it does.

My wish…. (in the words of Nichole Nordeman)

I want to leave a legacy
How will they remember me?
Did I choose to love? Did I point to You enough
To make a mark on things?
I want to leave an offering
A child of mercy and grace who
blessed your name unapologetically
And leave that kind of legacy

Lord, bless us and keep us and cause your face to shine upon us. Amen

About along the journey

public private ramblings - myfullemptynest
This entry was posted in Empty Nest. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

