In which Jesus is a feminist

“I want to raise tinies who rest in their God-breathed worth, who walk in the fullness and wholeness that comes from living loved. I don’t care much about the Romans Road or star charts or behaviour modification techniques. I want to raise tinies who walk humbly and do justly. I want to raise them to know and understand the importance of family and community. I want them to see, know, and honour the men and women who have walked ahead of us on The Way.”

That quote by Sarah Bessey really resonated with me. My tinies are way past tiny, but by the complete, indulgent grace of God, that’s how we hoped to raise our kids. I am completely & humbly proud of them as young adults.

I really don’t remember how I learned of Sarah Bessey. But I love her. She is a young mom who reminds me of a dear friend, Louise, who has a lot of ‘tinies’ of her own. Louise and Sarah share words like ‘runners’ (tennis shoes) and ‘mum.’  Probably even ‘ya-gurt’ aka yogurt.  Hailing from Western Canada she uses the King’s English,  and in that respect she reminds me of my daughters as they *favour the real English spelling of words. I also see qualities in her, through her writing, that reminds me of my girls in ways I cannot put my finger on, but it has something to do with her honesty.

In which I review a book I have not had the honor to read yet.  🙂

Sarah Bessey has written a book, soon to be out, called Jesus Feminist. books

I just know it is going to be great!!! Excited! I have read, but I already instinctively knew, that it is not a male bashing book – so not her style. Rather, it is “An Invitation to Revisit the Bible’s View of Women.”  Awesome!! As a woman with 2 daughters I’m all about a real Biblical view of women. I do not actually know what is within these pages (yet), but like her blog , I am sure it is wreaks with authenticity and I cannot wait to read it.

~Ciao

About along the journey

public private ramblings - myfullemptynest
This entry was posted in Children, Empty Nest, Family, Feminism, Hope, Parenting, Quotes, Religion & Christianity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

