The Patriotic God: A Review of “Our Great Big American God” by Matthew Paul Turner

I really like your critique. It seems balanced. I have read all of MPT’s books (loved them all) and wasn’t so sure I wanted to add another to my pile, but I’m intrigued now. Behind all that snark is a caring, compassionate Christian to whom I’ll always owe a debt of gratitude.

Dangerous Hope

Having the honor of being Facebook friends with the preeminent progressive Christian blogger and Evangelical culture critic Matthew Paul Turner, I ran across a posting of his one day which spoke of his upcoming book “Our Great Big American God.”  He was offering people who are bloggers, critics or other culture influencers a free copy of his book for them to review.  I messaged him.  He was gracious enough to send me a copy even though I don’t know if I fit any of the aforementioned categories.  I do my best impersonation of a blogger and critic.

As mentioned Turner (MPT) has a built-in reputation of being a more “liberal” Christian.  I would not have that designation (although I freely admit that the terms “conservative” and “liberal” are loaded terms and we all should talk more specifically about what we believe on the issues).  As a matter of fact, I have responded to MPT…

View original post 1,199 more words

About along the journey

public private ramblings - myfullemptynest
This entry was posted in Empty Nest. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

