On turning 55 ~ tomorrow

Yep, that’s my new number. Rather surreal.

This morning I was thinking about life, and the life and death of Kayla Mueller. This young woman had spent the past several years serving ‘the least of these,’ in a part of the world that is in dire need of any and all humanitarian efforts. One family member said, “She did more good in her 26 years than many do in a lifetime.” When I flashback to age 26, I can honestly say I was living a fairly self-indulgent lifestyle. Yet she, at 26, had an undeniable passion to help those who are suffering. Read more about her life here: KAYLA. **She was half my age, +3. I’m unsettled.

Today I’m almost 55. I need and want for nothing really. I know there are people throughout the world, for which anything I have or do today, would be considered a luxury for them. In that spirit, just in case anyone reading this was wondering what to get me for my birthday, may I recommend a donation to: The Lamb’s Refugio or World Relief 🙂

So thankful and grateful for the gift of love from my three (now adult) children, who even today, take my breath away with the beauty in which they live and serve in the world. I am also especially thankful for the love of a good man, who after 34.5 years of marriage, still calls me his bride.

FullSizeRender

I do love him so.

Here’s to another 55, and to bringing more love into the world any way I can.    🙂

< That’s us. 🙂

 

 

Always thankful.

About along the journey

public private ramblings - myfullemptynest
This entry was posted in Birthdays, Charity, Compassion, Empty Nest, Family, Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On turning 55 ~ tomorrow

  1. pltk says:

    *´¨)
    ¸.•´¸.•*´¨) ¸.•*¨)
    (¸.•´ (¸.•` ¤ Happy Birthday*´¨)

    I made a donation to The Lamb’s Refugio in honor of your b-day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

