Opinions and thoughtful rhetoric–

IMG_4236I really do try to share thoughtful and thought provoking articles on Facebook, especially when I want to have a record of them for future reference. I do not post them to create a debate or try to change anyone’s mind. When I read articles others post I love to mull them over. Sometime’s I do change my mind. I love to read and learn. Through the thought process I always expand my mind, and hopefully become a more compassionate, empathetic person as a result. Nevertheless, I’ve come to accept that some do not want to learn or become more thoughtful, often, some just like to argue. And way too many seem to think they have all the answers already, and have nothing new to learn. They don’t listen thoughtfully. A lost art. I find that sad.

I love the social aspects of Facebook too. It’s a great way to keep up, although we tend to do most of our ‘keeping up’ through FaceTime, phone calls, dinners, emails, and social gatherings. The ads on Facebook are obnoxious and have gotten out of hand for the users, but not the shareholders apparently. 🙂 If Zack Hunt, Pete Enns, Rachel Held Evans, Anne Voskamp, & Jen Hatmaker were no longer on Facebook, I would not be either. So you can blame them I guess. 🙂 Oh yeah, Andy Borowitz too. Ha.

I am rather obvious on Facebook that I am Christian. Likely too obvious for friends who do not share that with me. Yet, they are so gracious and kind. Often much more so than friends who are Christian, yet disagree with me on my opinions and thoughts. That is frustrating. I am learning patience and grace under pressure. Slowly. I have a friend, one of the most gracious people I know, who encourages me to keep on keeping on. My single goal is to be a positive example of Christ. I often fail. Especially in the eyes of some Christians. They unconciously try to beat you up with their legalism. Yet, keeping my eyes on Christ, having encouragement from other believers, and the encouragement of nonbelievers gives me joy.

Rev. Dr. Anna Howard Shaw (1847 -1919) once said, “…if you have a bit of truth, hold fast to that which God had given you; let no power, no injustice, no obstacle, no scorn, no opposition, let nothing extinguish the flame.” That’s my goal. Those are powerful words. We should remember that we have been called to be the voice of the voiceless. Not grandstanding spectacles. As someone once said, we must preach less and model more. Which is a lot like what St. Francis of Assisi said, “preach the gospel at all times, when necessary, use words.” Yes! It is NOT about us. We need to always consider the actual ‘Christ-likeness’ of our actions.

*”Despite what many of us have been led to believe by our evangelical subculture, taking a stand for Christ doesn’t look like forcing your will onto others in a public bid to get attention to the fact that you think your religious beliefs are right and everyone else is wrong.

Taking a stand for Christ looks like feeding the hungry, clothing the naked, ministering to the sick, caring for the poor, visiting the incarcerated, and welcoming the stranger so they may will see your good works and praise your Father in heaven.

This is how they will know we are his disciples.

This is how we take a stand for our faith.

BY OUR LOVE.

Not by our public stunts.”

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others. In your relationships with one another, have the same mindset as Christ Jesus:

Who, being in very nature God,
did not consider equality with God something to be used to his own advantage;
rather, he made himself nothing
by taking the very nature of a servant,
being made in human likeness.
And being found in appearance as a man,
he humbled himself
by becoming obedient to death—
even death on a cross!

*#ZackHunt

About along the journey

public private ramblings - myfullemptynest
This entry was posted in Christ, Compassion, Empty Nest, evangelical, Facebook, Love, Religion & Christianity, Rev. Dr. Anna Howard Shaw, Spirituality, Zack Hunt and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

