So… I poured my heart and soul into this election

It’s the day after. The most qualified person ever to run for President lost, and I am mourning what could have been. I know of so many octogenarian and nonagenarians, and for that matter women in their teens, twenties, thirties, forties, fifties, sixties, and seventies who were so excited about the possibility of a woman president after over 200 years of this country. I didn’t happen, and we are devastated. I made calls. Talked to so many people. I was so excited about her. Not so about him.

Unfortunately, he is one of the most crass leaders I could have ever imagined. But it’s done. Not quite a majority of people were willing to look the other way for some supposed greater purpose. It is what it is. Now I wish only the best as we go forward as I will not repeat the constant barrage of total nonsense that was thrown at Obama for 8 years. I want the best for our nation, and its role in worldwide humanity.

Today has brought back memories of the vitriol toward Obama as I have scrolled through my Facebook news feed. It is no secret that 70-ish % of evangelicals just jumped through hoops of rationalization, justification, trivializing, overlooking, and pretending that Trump isn’t really who he portended to be, to sooth their conscience as they held their nose to vote for him. For 8 years, those same Christians had an amazing Christian president, who they obviously did not agree with 100% of the time, and as I type probably still throw up a little just thinking about him, YET rarely did I see or hear them respect him in any manner of being. The conspiracy theories and lies just grew exponentially. (some generalizing here, but not as much as you may be thinking)

My beef at this point isn’t with him. It’s with many who voted for him. (Que the ‘stop whining’ and ‘oh, he’s really not that bad.’ He may really be that bad, but we need time to tell.) Meanwhile, like I said, it’s not about him. Someone on Sam’s news feed today actually said, ‘now God’s hand can begin moving through our country.’ Me: “Are you kidding me?!” I am in shock and awe that so many posts today indicate a shallow faith, and a very small god. God moves through people. So if you think God wasn’t moving before, look inward. Our new President isn’t our savior. And nothing will change within the borders of this country unless the change begins in you and me. Prophetically, I think our new President may actually be the King the Israelites demanded. And we know how that turned out. To hand over such power to a party or President is idolatry. I would like to think as Christians we are better than that.

There are real fears, and rightly so for all we know-based on his campaign rhetoric, in the lives of real people. I see no acknowledgement of that from those who have him on a pedestal. Religions are mocked, movements are mocked, no wonder people feel trivialized and unheard. They are not feeling the love. God’s hand will not be moving through our country if God’s people are withholding love from those who believe differently, or have a different color of skin, or a different religion.

When his video became public, I wrote about it here. Many people read the account, no one expressed any kindness. So, I can only imagine how the women felt when they came forward after the video came out. Everyone rushed to discredit them. Those were real women. They were moms and daughters. I could rehash everything he said or did that people have excused or overlooked, but that would only beget more excuses. Just don’t, for one minute, claim that because he is now the elect, ‘God’s hand can NOW move through our nation.’ That would not be a god I could believe in and that is the god who is turning away people from Christianity. That one is just too small. Too unkind. Too unloving. Too impotent. My God has been here since before the beginning of time. He has always been moving. We can choose to get on board and be his hands and feet. Or we can choose a golden calf.

I want to live my life relying on Christ alone. I choose love. Love wins, always.

joy-of-lord

Religion that is pure and undefiled before God, the Father, is this: to visit orphans and widows in their affliction, and to keep oneself unstained from the world. James 1:27

Whoever does not love does not know God, because God IS love. 1 John 4:8

This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers and sisters. If anyone has material possessions and sees a brother or sister in need but has no pity on them, how can the love of God be in that person? Dear children, let us not love with words or speech but with actions and in truth. 1 John 3:16-18

About along the journey

public private ramblings - myfullemptynest
This entry was posted in #imwithher, Election 2016, Empty Nest, Grieving, Joy, Love, Obama, Sexual assault and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So… I poured my heart and soul into this election

  1. Becky says:

    This is so well put, Ann. I agree with you 100%. I am so sad for our church and our country.

Leave a Reply

